Raid Levels Explained
Enterprise Storage Forum, May 3rd, 2019
May 12, 2019,
Volume 254, Issue 2

"Whether hardware or software, RAID is available in different schemes, or RAID levels, writes Christine Taylor in Enterprise Storage Forum. "The most commonly levels are RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, and 10. RAID 0, 1, and 5 work on both HDD and SSD media...

To understand RAID levels - and RAID storage overall - it helps to know that 'always-on' is more than marketing hype for business: it's a basic expectation of customers. One of the oldest and still active technologies to achieve always-on status is RAID, or 'redundant array of independent disks.'

Developers designed RAID to improve redundancy and performance in storage systems. RAID primarily serves HDDs, though some SSDs use RAID as well, especially in hybrid arrays..."

Read More ...


Other articles in the IT News - Storage section of Volume 254, Issue 2:

See all archived articles in the IT News - Storage section.